Scars mean the hurt is over!

Scars mean the hurt is over!

“Heal the Wound” by Point of Grace

I used to WISH that I could rewrite history
I used to dream that each mistake could be erased
Then I could just pretend
I never knew the ME back then

I used to pray that You would
Take this shame away
Hide all the evidence of who I’ve BEEN
But it’s the memory of
The place You brought me from
That keeps me on my knees
And even though I’m FREE

Heal the wound but leave the scar
A reminder of how MERCIFUL You are
I am broken, torn apart
Take the pieces of this heart
And HEAL the wound but leave the scar

I have not lived a life that boasts of anything
I don’t take pride in what I bring
But I’ll build an ALTAR with
The rubble that You’ve found me in
And every stone will SING
Of what You can redeem

Heal the wound but leave the scar
A reminder of how merciful You are
I am BROKEN, torn apart
Take the pieces of this heart
And heal the wound but leave the SCAR

Don’t let me forget
Everything You’ve DONE for me
Don’t let me forget
The BEAUTY in the suffering

Heal the wound but leave the scar
A REMINDER of how merciful You are
I am broken, torn apart
Take the pieces of this HEART
And heal the wound but leave the scar

 

This song got me thinking about how wonderful God really is. He healed my wounds. I no longer have to struggle with the demons of depression or negative thoughts about myself.. I am not affected by the pain of my childhood and past. I am nowhere near perfect and there is much more work He must do in me… but from those feelings of pain & loss in my life… My God has healed me! And yet He leaves the scar.

The scar means the hurt is over!

Yet, leaving it there… He allows me to remember where I came from and how I felt before His healing touch.

He allows me to see that pain and to remember who I was once… what kind of a person I would have continued on to become had I not received a slap in the face with GRACE (undeserved favor & unconditional love) – so much of an overwhelming pure love that I could not remain who I was any longer!

He allows the scar to be a reminder of how wonderful He is to me (and to all those seek after Him). My whole life wants to sing oh, how good He is!! How awful we are… how terribly wicked and pitiful human beings are.. especially me… but how graciously sweet our super-powerful universe-holding God is to you and to me!

He was able to heal those wounds. He alone did the work in my heart, soul & mind. He made me brand new. Wow.

He was the One.

HIS LOVE and mercy and grace.

Jesus.

My Heavenly Father.

NO.

ONE.

ELSE.

He healed the wound and there’s no longer any pain linked with the scars of a broken life. There’s now scars for others to see. To see and be healed themselves. They are there so that others can know about the amazing work God has done in my life. I once was ashamed, no more. I will not hide the scars any longer. Why would I when those very scars are there to show the transforming power of the Holy Spirit and those scars the only part of me beautiful enough to offer up fragrant praise to the glory of God and the saving power of the blood of Jesus Christ!!

My soul… it MUST SING of what He did for me! (I’m so glad God gifted me to play the piano so I can worship Him with my own love songs!)

Oh how much he has saved me from! Most of all… myself. My very own flesh… yet I stand repaired and renewed in His holy presence today!

I give praise only to my Father in Heaven. He did the work, I just opened my heart.

“Heal the wound, but leave the scar”

What wounds is He healing right now in you?

What wounds still hurt and you want Him to begin or complete to heal?

What scars has He blessed you with?

Will you let others see so that they run to find Jesus, the gentle Healer too?

Jesus loves you and He will transform you.

Joy for your sorrow. Hope for despair. Gladness for mourning. Beauty for ashes!

As the following passage of scripture shows… bad things exist in the world.. and we…yes you… not just those who stand ordained in our churches.. but you who are a follower of Christ & have been given the Spirit of God within you.. are at the very least called & anointed by the Lord to reach out our hands to bring OTHERS to salvation.

This is God’s greatest will in us. That we love & serve others before ourselves… helping them with what really is going on in their lives.. the places they would rather hide and so never get freedom from… as I once did and maybe you too. Look around your little world and see who needs to hear your story of salvation & healing… perhaps they may be surprised to find you were not any better off than where they are at right now. LOVE OTHERS … my life’s calling and work.. as my Jesus did…  and in doing so you also find how to love the LORD your God.

ISAIAH 61: 1-6

1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners,
2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.

4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins
and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
that have been devastated for generations.
5 Strangers will shepherd your flocks;
foreigners will work your fields and vineyards.
6 And you will be called priests of the LORD,
you will be named ministers of our God.”

 

~ Sharon Samuel

 

